Tuesday - March 29, 1994 - 7:00 p.m.

Vance Avenue Elementary School Auditorium

Community Meeting

Present: Mayor Russell Martin, Presiding; Vice-Mayor Chris Peterson; Councilwoman Barbara Field, Councilman Gary McClure, Councilwoman Leni Sitnick, Councilman Joseph Carr Swicegood and Councilman Herbert J. Watts; City Attorney William F. Slawter; Interim City Manager William B. Farris; and Associate City Manager/City Clerk William F. Wolcott Jr.

Absent: None

Police Chief Will Annarino and Tommy Seller, representative of the West Asheville Business Association, brief the Council on the proposed West Asheville Substation for the Police Department.

The following topics were raised by residents and addressed by Council: fear of raising of taxes, back taxes owed by Pack Plaza, favoritism of services to other areas of the City, sidewalk repair on Haywood Street, Public Works Facility, demolition process, selection of a city manager, stronger noise ordinance, zoning enforcement, elected School Board, taxing tourists instead of city residents, stronger animal control laws, tax lots, stormwater runoff, concern about poor turnout and also concern that there was only one member of the media present.

Balancing the budget was discussed by members of Council.

Councilwoman Sitnick stated that her original budget vote was based on the fact that her instructions were clear that the Council was not going to balance the budget on the back of the taxpayer or the City's loyal employees. She requested that we look at every nickel and dime as to where we could save and cut waste before anyone's job was jeopardized. She had a list of several cost-cutting ideas and asked that all members of Council prepare a similar list in order that layoffs could be avoided.

At 10:00 p.m., Councilwoman Sitnick moved to recess the meeting and reconvene at 12:00 Noon on Thursday, March 31, 1994, in the Pre-Council Conference Room on the second floor of the City Hall Building. This motion was seconded by Councilman McClure and carried unanimously.

City Clerk Mayor